Television, Magazine, Mentorship and Events

The Planet Africa organization was established to reflect the best of people of African heritage, regardless of where they were born or live on the planet. It links the Diaspora to the continent, with the aim of ensuring harmony and prosperity of people of African Descent as well as communities where they live.

Planet Africa envisions higher levels of success in local communities as well as on the international scene. The network is set to unite African people and to advance their aspirations. “Indeed with unity of mind and purpose, nothing shall be impossible” The organization produces Planet Africa Television, the only regularly scheduled program of its kind in Canada that enlightens and entertains regarding the experiences and aspirations of Africa and the Diaspora. Common themes include enterprise, education, development, technology, individual and organizational profiles, makeovers and others. The show airs in Canada, Europe and Africa.

Through the Planet Africa Magazine, the annual international Planet Africa Awards program and other initiatives, the company aims at making Africa, the Diaspora and the world in general, a better place for all humanity. Planet Africa Magazine features proactive stories on civic responsibility, health, fashion, beauty, business, book reviews, career, education, sports, women’s affairs, the rich and magnificent heritage of Africa and the Diaspora, are also featured.

The Planet Africa Awards program seeks to identify and recognize deserving individuals, organizations, businesses and agencies that make a profound difference in society. Since 2004, the program has honoured and celebrated national and global achievers. The event has hosted legendary figures from around the world including: Dr. Julius Garvey, community activist and son of Marcus Garvey; Professor Wole Soyinka, Nobel Laureate; Douglas Orane, Chairman of Grace Food; Daniel Igali, Olympic God Medalist and Bernice King, CEO of the King Centre and daughter of Martin Luther King Junior.

Planet Africa produced “Routes of Freedom”, a documentary film commissioned by the Government of Ontario to commemorate the 200th year of the Abolition of the British Slave trade Act. The organization also produced ‘Luminaries” and “Visionaries” biography television series which was aired on OMNI television across Canada.

Planet Africa has received many awards including a Toronto Police Community Service Award and the National Ethnic Media Council of Canada Excellence in Media Award. In 2013, the Patricia and Moses Mawa and the organization were featured in a half hour special on CNN International.

The Crossover Mentorship Program, an initiative developed by Planet Africa Network in 2008 to build a community wherein young people lead healthy lifestyles, make positive contributions to society, and grow to become highly responsible citizens. The mission of the Program is to equip youth known as Crossover Ambassadors with tools that positively impact lives, by identifying problems that affect them and proffering lasting solutions with professional guidance and mentorship.